the ATL hip hop BLOG

blog image

All Hail The Queen!

May 05, 20232 min read

“Ladies first, there's no time to rehearse. I'm divine and my mind expands throughout the universe.” - Queen Latifah


Hip Hop makes another record as The National Recording Registry inducts Queen Latifah's Debut Album, All Hail The Queen, into the Library of Congress as an audio treasure worthy of preservation for all-time based on its cultural, historical, or aesthetic importance in the nation's recorded sound heritage.

The Album Cover

album cover - all hail the queen

The Timeline

  • In 1989, the album was released in the U.S. through Tommy Boy Records.

  • In 1989, the feminist anthem, Ladies First, featuring Monie Love, instantly became a Hip Hop Classic.

  • In 1989, the album charted at #6 on the US Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums.

  • In 1989, the single, Ladies First, charted at #5 on the U.S. Rap Chart.

  • In 1989, the single, Dance For Me, charted at #14 on the U.S. Rap Chart.

  • In 1990, the single, Come Into My House, charted at #7 on the U.S. Dance Chart.

  • In 1990, the single, Mama Gave Birth to the Soul Children, charted at #28 on the U.S. Dance Chart.

  • In 1998, it was included in The Source's "100 Best Albums" list.

  • In 2005, It was featured in Robert Dimery's musical reference book, 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

  • In 2008, the single "Ladies First" was ranked number 35 on VH1's 100 Greatest Songs of Hip Hop.

  • In 2023, it was inducted into the Library of Congress's National Recording Registry because it showed that Hip Hop could cross genres including Reggae, Hip Hop, House, and Jazz - while also opening opportunities for other female rappers.

The Tracks

  1. Dance For Me

  2. Mama Gave Birth to the Soul Children (with De La Soul)

  3. Come Into My House (with Quasar)

  4. Latifah's Law

  5. Wrath of my Madness

  6. The Pros (with Daddy-O)

  7. Ladies First (with Monie Love)

  8. A King and Queen Celebration (with 45 King)

  9. Queen of Royal Badness

  10. Evil That Men Do (with KRS-ONE)

  11. Princess of the Posse

  12. Inside Out

The Personnel

  • Daddy O – Producer, Performer, Mixing

  • De La Soul – Performer

  • Dr. Jam – Remixing

  • KRS-One – Producer, Mixing

  • Queen Latifah – Producer, Mixing

  • Monie Love – Performer

  • DJ Mark the 45 King – Producer, Performer, Mixing

  • Paul C. – Engineer, Mixing

  • Prince Paul – Producer, Mixing

  • Soulshock – Remixing

  • Dwayne Sumal – Engineer

  • Rob Sutton – Mixing

  • Ted Jensen – Mastering

  • Mike Teelucksingh – Engineer

  • Little Louie Vega – Producer, Mixing

  • Dr. Shane Faber – Guitar (Bass), Engineer

  • Dan Miller – Engineer, Mixing

  • Bob Coulter – Engineer, Mixing

  • Al Watts – Engineer, Mixing

  • Steven Miglio – Artwork, Design, Layout Design

  • Dante Ross – Production Coordination, Production Consultant

  • Ultimatum – Remixing

  • Dilly d'Mus – Assistant Engineer

  • Louis Vego – Producer, Mixing

  • Howard Zucker – Typography

  • Jane Wexler – Photography

  • Bart Everly – Photography

  • Christopher Shaw – Engineer

  • Dan Miller – Mixing

  • Gawthaman Gobinath – Make-up Artist

  • Dana Mozie – DMV Regional Record Promoter

😍 Click here to JOIN the Hip Hop Digest Mailing List 😍

SWATSatlienatliensatlantaatlanta georgiaatlanta gaatlhip hopatl hip hopatl culturehip hop culture80s hip hop90s hip hophip hop evangelistmiquielmiquiel banksyeekyeek cultureyeekinganswers to hip hophip hop answership hop questionship hop historythe history of hip hopatl hip hop historythe history of atl hip hopi love atl hip hopi love hip hopi love atlanta hip hop
blog author image

Miquiel Banks

Miquiel Banks is the Power behind his Educational Site, The Hip Hop Evangelist. His site is dedicated to cultivating and preserving ATL Hip Hop and Yeek Culture.

Back to Blog

© 2023 The Hip Hop Evangelist. All Rights Reserved.